This Year’s Fearless, Female Nobel Peace Prize Recipients

By Rachel Sandler, JWI intern

Today, the Norwegian Nobel Committee announced that it has awarded the Nobel Peace Prize to three outstanding female activists, Leymah Gbowee and Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia and Tawakul Karman of Yemen. JWI celebrates their tremendous accomplishments, which you can read about below

Leymah Gbowee of Liberia: In a time of devastating war, Leymah headed the Liberian peace protest organization Women for Peace. What began as singing and praying in a fish market ended in forcing President Charles Taylor to peace talks in Ghana and ultimately the establishment of a peace agreement.

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia: Following the work of Women for Peace in ending the war in Liberia, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf became the first female president not only in Liberia, but in all Africa in 2005. She took over a nation in deep poverty still struggling to recover from civil war. She has since fought tirelessly to restore equality, justice and hope to her nation.

Tawakul Karman of Yemen: Tawakul Karman was responsible for bringing thousands of Yemenis to the streets to protest for democracy. Tawakul created a human rights advocacy group called Women Journalists without Chains in 2005 and continues to regularly leads anti- government demonstrations and sit-ins.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s