Rep. Gabrielle Giffords is in our prayers

By Danielle Cantor, JWI Design & Communications Manager / Associate Editor, Jewish Woman magazine

“Frankly I got frustrated with opening my newspaper each day and seeing Arizona behind other states in terms of people funding, mental health funding, protecting the environment. So in 2000, I decided to run for political office… It was just a question of, “Why wring your hands when you can fix the tractor?” I jumped in there to see what I could do, and I haven’t looked back since.”

– Rep. Gabrielle Giffords in Jewish Woman magazine, spring 2007

Since Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords first inspired us in her 2007 Jewish Woman magazine interview, she’s grown into an even more effective advocate for her home state, with her consistently tough and even-minded stance on issues from education to immigration to energy use. She’s also become an increasingly powerful role model to Jewish women all over the world. On a personal note, she is one of the most genuine, down-to-earth women I’ve interviewed in my 7 1/2 years with JW magazine. Please join me and the entire JWI community in wishing Rep. Giffords a full and speedy recovery.

See CNN’s up-to-the-minute coverage of Giffords’ condition and the Jan. 8th shooting that killed six people and wounded 14 others, including Giffords.

Leave a Reply

